Freedom Day 2013

Nineteen years ago today, South Africans “celebrated freedom” on April 27, 1994! Since then, the majority of South Africans enjoy what they perceive to be freedom, for that is what the government of South Africa has told its citizens that they have this democratic freedom which incorporates freedom of expression. However, in reality, the majority of South Africans are not free, but just slaves to another system and its master. What the populace do not realise is that they are not truly free. Why? Well, let’s ask the question – “What are you free from?”

FREEDOM DAY 2013

The main stream populace say they are free from colonial oppression. However the very people who say this find themselves oppressed by a system that keeps them in bondage by not allowing them to exercise their conscience and by drumming the same old tiresome speeches over and over again so people will not forget the past! In fact, if the colonial past was really an oppressive system, then those advocating the past oppressions should give up on the rich trappings of colonialism and surrender on all the “westernised or Europeanism” way of living and go back to one’s African roots!  We can safely say this will never take place as those who speak out against the colonials and their ways need the educated, industrialised and modern systems that the colonials brought to these shores! The populace also say they have a freedom charter known as the bill of rights, yet many people find that their rights are infringed upon by the dictatorship of the government! You see the very freedoms that people are to enjoy under the constitution of South Africa are not freedoms at all, especially when you have rights to freedom of speech and information, yet the government contradicts these freedoms by passing a preposterous secrecy bill! It makes one wonder what is so secret when the same government passed a law during the early stages of this democracy that allowed citizens the freedom to the access of information by enacting that piece of legislation!  What has also been presented as freedoms, especially among the vast majority of Africans, that have been passed as law, flies against the “moralistic customs and traditions of true Africans.” These freedoms that are given to name a few are:

  • Girls can have sex at 16 years of age (it’s a no-brainer why there are so many pre-marital pregnancies in schools)
  • Homosexuals can engage freely and have same-sex marriages (South Africa is the only country in Africa to have this as a law!);
  • Abortions can freely take place – what about the right to life of the unborn contained in the bill of rights?
  • Religious practices of all faiths.

You see, people think they have freedom, because the government has granted them this so-called freedom. However, what the peoples of South Africa fail to understand is that the very freedoms that they enjoy now will one day be brought out on the Day of Judgment before the Judgment Seat of Christ when all must give an account of how they have lived here on this earth. The government does not care for ones soul. In fact, the ruling government of South Africa in all its guises hates the souls of its citizens and the strangers that live in and among them! These so called freedoms go against the Commandments of God Almighty – the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob – the One True God who is the Creator. If the government of South Africa had its citizens’ best interests at heart they would be God-fearing and not pass ungodly laws. The god that the government of South Africa serves is one of ecumenicalism which is the work of Satan the Devil!

To be truly free is not about enjoying and following a set of man-made rules and ungodly laws, but to know the Son of man who can make you free! Our Lord Jesus Christ said that He is the Way, the Truth and the Life (see John 14:6) and as He is the Truth, only the Truth can make you free! The real issue here is that by sinning against God this makes you a transgressor of His Law that renders you an enemy of God and therefore you need to obtain peace between your Creator and you, and the only way to attain that peace is through God’s only begotten Son, Jesus Christ! We read the following Holy Scriptures that are an indictment against evil and wicked sinners and all the ungodly man-made laws that govern God’s people today:

John 8:23 And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.

John 8:24 I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

John 8:25 Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning.

John 8:26 I have many things to say and to judge of you: but he that sent me is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.

John 8:27 They understood not that he spake to them of the Father.

John 8:28 Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.

John 8:29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.

John 8:30 As he spake these words, many believed on him.

John 8:31 Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed;

John 8:32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

John 8:33 They answered him, We be Abraham’s seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free?

John 8:34 Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.

John 8:35 And the servant abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever.

John 8:36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

John 8:37 I know that ye are Abraham’s seed; but ye seek to kill me, because my word hath no place in you.

John 8:38 I speak that which I have seen with my Father: and ye do that which ye have seen with your father.

John 8:39 They answered and said unto him, Abraham is our father. Jesus saith unto them, If ye were Abraham’s children, ye would do the works of Abraham.

John 8:40 But now ye seek to kill me, a man that hath told you the truth, which I have heard of God: this did not Abraham.

John 8:41 Ye do the deeds of your father. Then said they to him, We be not born of fornication; we have one Father, even God.

John 8:42 Jesus said unto them, If God were your Father, ye would love me: for I proceeded forth and came from God; neither came I of myself, but he sent me.

John 8:43 Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word.

John 8:44 Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.

Joh 8:45 And because I tell you the truth, ye believe me not.

John 8:46 Which of you convinceth me of sin? And if I say the truth, why do ye not believe me?

John 8:47 He that is of God heareth God’s words: ye therefore hear them not, because ye are not of God.

John 8:48 Then answered the Jews, and said unto him, Say we not well that thou art a Samaritan, and hast a devil?

John 8:49 Jesus answered, I have not a devil; but I honour my Father, and ye do dishonour me.

John 8:50 And I seek not mine own glory: there is one that seeketh and judgeth.

John 8:51 Verily, verily, I say unto you, If a man keep my saying, he shall never see death.

John 8:52 Then said the Jews unto him, Now we know that thou hast a devil. Abraham is dead, and the prophets; and thou sayest, If a man keep my saying, he shall never taste of death.

John 8:53 Art thou greater than our father Abraham, which is dead? and the prophets are dead: whom makest thou thyself?

John 8:54 Jesus answered, If I honour myself, my honour is nothing: it is my Father that honoureth me; of whom ye say, that he is your God:

John 8:55 Yet ye have not known him; but I know him: and if I should say, I know him not, I shall be a liar like unto you: but I know him, and keep his saying.

John 8:56 Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad.

John 8:57 Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham?

John 8:58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

John 8:59 Then took they up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.

To be truly free, repent and believe the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. It is your only hope.

One Response

  1. In fact, if the colonial past was really an oppressive system, then those advocating the past oppressions should give up on the rich trappings of colonialism and surrender on all the “westernised or Europeanism” way of living and go back to one’s African roots! We can safely say this will never take place as those who speak out against the colonials and their ways need the educated, industrialised and modern systems that the colonials brought to these shores!

    hi there,

    your statement above is very incorrect if you think that the ‘civilisation’ (cars,cellphones,tall buildings,etc) that the whiteman brought here was freedom. being civilsed is to respect and love your neighbour like you do to yourself. the struggle that we fought for was to be respected and be treated as equal and share the resources that our country can produce, now you want us to be apologetic about what we fought for. yes, our government is corrupt to say the least. but for you to say that we should not enjoy the things that the colonialists brought here and forget about the past is wrong. you can invent the most complex engineering in the world, but if you mistreat your neighbour in any way then you are not civilised at all. i don’t see anything wrong to go back and remind someone of the past, so that it does not happen again. you are nothing but a hypocrite for my liking, because you read the bible which was written hundreds of years ago, but you want other people to forget something terrible that happened a few decades ago as if what happened is insignificant.

Leave a Reply

