Persecuted for Jesus Christ

Today I met up with Brother Lungisa Zondi to go and reach the lost souls with our Lord Jesus Christ. The opportunities abound in Pietermaritzburg for there are many evil and wicked practices that the enemy, that ol’ serpent the Devil, has many people practicing idolatry openly upon the streets.

This would be another day of proclaiming the Truth to the many people groups in the ‘City of Choice’, the capital of KwaZulu-Natal. Recently Brother Lungisa and I have been encouraged of our Great King Jesus Christ to be bold and operate in His strength by handing out literature and preaching the Word of Truth to many races and religious groups. Again, today would be no different, but today persecution would come in another form. The Name of Jesus Christ truly is the Name above all names and there truly is power in the Name of Jesus. We learnt first hand from experience and it was a joyous occasion.

The preaching of the Word of God would be Light confronting darkness in the form of a main-honcho songoma selling his evil and wicked muti concoctions upon the sidewalk in Church Street near the main taxi rank outside Freedom Square and opposite the High Court. While Lungisa used a borrowed loud-hailer and preached Jesus Christ and His Righteousness in isiZulu and English, I went across the street and walked on the fringes of a gathered group of cultists and curious onlookers that pointed at the yellow python on the sidewalk while the songoma sat amongst his devilish muti as his assistants solicited business from the crowd. I rebuked and proclaimed that judgment will come upon all who partake of this evil and wicked practices of ancestral worship and bowing the knee to idols and other gods other than their Creator Nkulunkulu (God) and that those buying the muti are selling their souls to the devil. Many looked, some ignored, and some responded and took tracts and left the scene. A stir was being caused and the devil’s business was being disturbed, praise Jesus.

There were some Christian brethren that encouraged the Word of God standing against the works of darkness and two sisters joined me ‘prayer-walking’ the fringes of the crowd gathered, who started to dwindle as we proclaimed Christ and took a stand to reclaim the ground and souls gathered there for our King. Satan’s workers were not happy – one worker went across the road to interrupt Brother Lungisa from preaching the Word to get him to tell me to leave the area, whilst another of the workers of darkness tried to draw me away to speak to me. I refused and said if he wants to speak to me he could do so there as I was going nowhere and I was standing on that ground for my King Jesus. It all happened so quickly. Whilst facing up the road in the direction of the City Hall I was bumped off my feet and knocked to the ground by the main-honcho sangoma who deliberately drove into me with his black VW Polo (Reg. No. ND 347 528) as I had not heeded his request earlier to leave the area. It was amazing, being knocked to the ground, no fear, no panic, no pain, but a bit surprised by the whole incident. As I picked myself up from being seated on my backside against the front bumper of the vehicle, the songoma beckoned me to his driver’s window. I approached him and he threatened me that if I do not leave something worse would happen to me. My response was that I would not be leaving and had he not just witnessed that my Jesus had protected me from harm. It was then that he made an unlawful turn over a double solid line and made his way towards Brother Lungisa across the road. Two sisters witnessed me being knocked down and they even voiced their concern that the action was premeditated from their vantage point. Glory to Jesus for Him being magnified this day.

I had warned Brother Lungisa as I was concerned this madman would go for him, but he drew the car up and started warning him that something would happen to my Brother in Christ if I did not stop. He also told Brother Lungisa that he would “kill me and bury me and nothing would come of his vehicle” possibly implying that he has ‘friends in authority’. Brother Lungisa also warned the songoma that he does not know the God we serve who is greater than him. I had joined Brother Lungisa across the road and whilst he confronted the devilish man in the black VW Polo, I took the loud-hailer and continued preaching repentance of their evil and wicked works. It was at that time that our Lord had other Saints join us as we raised our voices in worship of our Great King and Lord Jesus Christ calling on the workers of darkness to repent and come out of their devilish worship of Satan. We noticed that the crowds decreased around the songoma’s workshop on the sidewalk as Christ’s Name was raised in unison and that is also when the two eye witnessing sisters joined us in prayer giving God glory for His protection and showing Himself Mighty amongst men. They then also confirmed to Brother Lungisa the knock down. We give Glory to God that we were found worthy of persecution for Jesus’ sake. We are encouraged and rejoice at Jesus’ Words:

10Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. 11Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake. 12Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you. ~ Matthew 5:10-12

Whilst there I shared with Brother Lungisa and the two Sisters the incident when Stephen was martyred by stoning and he looked up to heaven, and Christ was standing at the right hand of the Father. At that point in time Jesus stood up (see Acts 7:55,56) for Scripture reveals that Christ is seated at the right hand of God (see Matthew 22:44; Mark 12:36; Luke 20:42; Acts 2:34; Romans 8:34; Hebrews 1:3; and many more).

I also shared that during my prayer time before leaving home earlier today that I felt the presence of God and I felt crushed and burdened for the lost. I truly believe that what you have just read was God preparing me for the events that unfolded today upon the streets of ‘Maritzburg. All Glory to God.

After leaving that area God gave us opportunity to witness to some young children outside the Public Library, again, and to preach His Words of Truth. Another wonderful day out there with our Lord Jesus Christ calling men to repentance. All Glory to God, and thank You Lord for giving us experience in suffering for Your Worthy Name. Praise be to Jesus the Christ.

Leave a Reply

