World Cup Outreach ~ TLC Evangelism Update

This is a World Cup Report that was sent out by Lost Cause Ministries in an e-mail from Brothers Jon Speed and Tim Crawford. Tim laboured in our Lord’s harvest here in South Africa.

This report comes from Tim Crawford…

Let’s start with the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, BC when I was invited by Bill Adams (SFOI Ministries) to take a trip to South Africa with him to preach and witness at the 2010 Fifa World Cup. At first I dismissed it and decided it was too far and besides that with the finances the way they were I didn’t foresee myself having $3,000 on hand anytime soon. I told him I would pray about it and let him know later if I felt that I would be able to go.   “Later” turned into much later when I received a call from Bill saying “Tim, this is my last appeal to see if you will come with me to preach in South Africa, let me know.”  I didn’t call him back because, as far as I was concerned, it was no deal; I wasn’t going to Africa and that was final.  Or so I thought!

Two weeks prior to the trip (June 3rd) I awoke with this nagging feeling like I didn’t keep my end of the bargain.   After all, I hardly prayed about the trip and I didn’t even try to raise support. I was convicted about it so I prayed and felt like I needed to send out a last minute support letter.  If God was going to send me to Africa then He would need to make it loud and clear to me that I was supposed to go. I know many of you are much more spiritual than I, but it is what it is and I wanted to make sure it wasn’t just bad pizza or something but a true leading from the Lord. So I put together a letter that morning and sent it out to several men one at a time.  As the Lord would have it, I sent out five e-mails and raised the money with the responses from the first three!  I guess when people say, “If it is God’s will then it will be God’s bill” there is truth in it.  I was off to South Africa from June 16th to July 1st  for a life changing missions trip.

Tim Crawford preaching at sunset to fans walking to Soccer City, Johannesburg

There were over 32 countries involved in the World Cup and many of them are closed countries where it is illegal to share the Gospel. Just to give you an idea of how big it was, they say that the NFL “Super Bowl” gets about 1.2 million viewers and the World Cup averages 1.8 to 2.1 Billion viewers!!! I had no idea the size of this event or how big it really was until I arrived in South Africa.

The trip was incredible and we were able to preach everyday from morning till night. We had the privilege of preaching in the local town squares and market places as well as at the soccer games in Pretoria, Johannesburg and Rustenburg. We divided the days up into two 4 hour blocks and when there wasn’t a double header being played we would take the first block and head to the inner cities. This made for some long days (12 -15 hours) with the traffic and travel time, but it was well worth it. The people were very receptive to the Word and often we found ourselves sitting down in the middle of the city opening His Word and teaching (bible study) right there after the open-air preaching. People would ask all kinds of questions and stand and talk literally for hours asking for prayer and sharing their stories. It was very refreshing to see that the fields are truly white unto harvest!  I forget that sometimes living in America where so many are blinded by materialism and so caught up in the business of life. These people seemed to see the gravity of their sin when confronted with the law and understood that God would be just in sending them to hell if they weren’t born again. We saw several repent in brokenness over their sin and can only hope that they were truly converted and will forsake all and follow Christ.

Tim Crawford teaching from the Bible Scriptures on a side street leading to the Ellis Park stadium, Johannesburg

Overall we had the privilege of witnessing and preaching to many thousands of people at the games and in the cities and we know that His Word will never return void. God was glorified and I believe this trip was life changing for many including myself.   Thanks again for your prayers and support. I will try to upload some more photos so you can see all that went on over there.

To God be the glory for the great things He has done!

— ooo —

The Score Board

Semi-Finals

Tuesday July 6

1 : Netherlands 3 vs. Uruguay 2 ~ Cape Town

Wednesday July 7

2 : Germany 0 vs. Spain 1 ~ Durban

Leave a Reply

