World Cup Outreach ~ Sello’s Diary

During the last thirteen days the Brethren that met for the World Cup Outreach in the Gauteng and North West Provinces have also met new brothers and sisters in Christ who have boldly stepped out of their comfort zones and allowed Almighty God to glorify Himself through them. We hope to have reports posted by all the Brethren who laboured in our Lord’s harvest to the Glory of our Triune God – Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Sello Rasephei reading God's Word in public

To ‘kick-off’ we will start with Brother Sello Rasephei from Pretoria who has been keeping the following journal for God’s Glory and he also broke the sound barrier for the very first time with the public proclamation of God’s Word. Here are extracts and the links to read more at his blog Burden4Souls :

It is really been a thrill to serve God, and it has not been different during this soccer World Cup in South Africa. The soccer World Cup is the best opportunity in the whole world to preach the Gospel, and I’m glad that I have been able to participate so far.

My participation in World Cup Evangelism started when I received a weekly newsletter update from Way of the Master on the 20th April, and they highlighted that they have been able to ship 100 000 tracts to a South African ministry for distribution during the World Cup. My interest in these football tracts was already great, and I had been looking to buy them so I can distribute them in the street corners. So I contacted Living Waters (of which Way of the Master is its TV ministry) to find out if I can get my hands on these tracts. A Living Waters correspondent, Oracio Sandoval, referred me to Gary Crous of Luke 9:23 Ministries and as they say the rest was history. Gary told me about the Evangelism Bootcamp that has been arranged for all those who would like to participate in World Cup Evangelism. (Read more at http://burden4souls.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/fifa-world-cup-2010-and-evangelism-update-2/)

World Cup outreaches are getting better every day, and it is definitely the best time of my Christian life. Years from now I will look back at this few weeks and I’ll conclude that they were the turning point in my Christian life, and I got closer to God than I have ever been in my two and a half years as a Christian. (Read more at http://burden4souls.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/fifa-world-cup-2010-and-evangelism-update-3/)

More will follow on the ‘newbie’ labourers who broke the sound barrier for the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ.

– ooo –

The Score Board

Tuesday June 15

F : New Zealand 1 vs. Slovakia 1 ~ Rustenburg

G : Côte d’Ivoire 0 vs. Portugal 0 ~ Pretoria

G : Brazil 2 vs. Korea DPR 1 ~ Ellis Park, Johannesburg

Wednesday June 16

H : Honduras 0 vs. Chile 1 ~ Nelspruit

H : Spain 0 vs. Switzerland 1 ~ Durban

A : South Africa 0 vs. Uruguay 3 ~ Pretoria

Thursday June 17

A : France 0 vs. Mexico 2 ~ Polokwane

B : Greece 2 vs. Nigeria 1 ~ Bloemfontein

B : Argentina 4 vs. Korea Republic 1 ~ Soccer City, Johannesburg

Friday June 18

D : Germany 0 vs. Serbia 1 ~ Port Elizabeth

C : Slovenia 2 vs. USA 2 ~ Ellis Park, Johannesburg

C : England 0 vs. Algeria 0 ~ Cape Town

(No links available to the games’ highlights – other results with links to follow)

Leave a Reply

